Testimonials

Our patients are assured of the best possible care in a competent and customer-friendly environment Kathleen Thiessen From the emergency room to a four day stay and treatment, and going back to get copies of all records, our family received compassionate care and professional assistance in every way. I didn’t give five stars only because…

Kathleen Thiessen
From the emergency room to a four day stay and treatment, and going back to get copies of all records, our family received compassionate care and professional assistance in every way. I didn't give five stars only because I think the board and the USVI government needs to step up and give these people all the tools they need to serve this island. We were very grateful for all that was done for our loved one in a timely, and professional manner!!
(August 03, 2017)

Kathleen Thiessen

From the emergency room to a four day stay and treatment, and going back to get copies of all records, our family received compassionate care and professional assistance in every way. I didn't give five stars only because I think the board and the USVI government needs to step up and give these people all the tools they need to serve this island. We were very grateful for all that was done for our loved one in a timely, and professional manner!!
(August 03, 2017)

Melisa Kirby reviewed Schneider Regional Medical Center

I broke my wrist last evening when slipping on wet concrete steps. My son and friends drove me to Schneider ER where we all were treated politely and efficiently. From registration to triage, ex-ray, exam, administering of a pain med, splinting and checkout, each and every professional involved was outstanding both in care and bedside manner. I wish I remembered names so I could properly thank them. I can't but do want to publicly thank them here. Good job, team! I greatly appreciate you.
(June 02, 2017)

Jeff Anderson reviewed Schneider Regional Medical Center

My second experience with ER at Schneider. Very good care, very competent and caring medical staff. Desk staff very helpful too.
(May 12, 2017)

Mary Kukfa Stallings

We landed at Roy Schneider Hospital after a medical emergency out on sea on a cruise ship. From the ER Nurse Kelly who helped me acclimate to the hospital and island culture, to the surgeon Dr Comissiong and OR staff who treated my 22 year old daughter like their own on her 22nd birthday, to the Cruise port Liaison Tiarra who took care of everything (and more), to the Patient Advocate and the Nurse in charge who made sure I was comfortable and finally our nurse Christine who we were happy to have for three 12 hour shifts, our 3 1/2 day stay was the best it could be. This RN Nurse Mom is grateful for the care we received and Dr Commissiong's follow up after we returned home.
(March 19, 2017)

Wendy S. Hart

Seeing The Other Side Of The Fence
This particular morning was an uneasy one for me.  I was nervous and has some anxiety that made my blood pressure be way higher than usual.  I was very hesitant on even getting out of bed in the first place.  I had too; I had already drunk the most enormous, nastiest lemon flavoured fluid that tasted worse than anything I have ever had to drink.  Each gulp

All this was because I was scheduled to have a procedure at the same place I worked at.  I am a very healthy individual, but due to my family history, I needed the dreaded colonoscopy that we all eventually need to get done.  Well, it was my turn.  I was nervous over the procedure due to the unknown of what may be lurking deep in my colon.  Even more anxious over having it done where I worked, and the thought of being on the other side of the fence, being an actual patient and not the health care provider.

Well, I must admit, the experience wasn’t bad at all.  First of all, the staff in the OR, and my physician was wonderful.  The procedure, well, what can I say it was what it was.  They were very professional and understanding.  I believe they could see I was nervous and they were very comforting.  A few of the nurses that recognized me came over and visited me.  I told one of them in particular that I was nervous and replied to my statement in a soft sweet voice, “You’re one of us, your part of the family; we’ll take good care of you”.  I’m sure I wasn’t treated any different from any other patient, but her just saying that for some reason, calmed my apprehensions down.   Another nurse that recognized me asked if I wanted her to put in my IV, I said ok, she wasn’t even my nurse for my case.  She did a great job, I didn’t even feel it.  Well, maybe a little pinch.  Everyone was wonderful from start to finish.

What a wonderful family that I found I belong too, and I am proud to be a part of at SRMC.  KUDOS and a BIG THANKS to the entire OR team.  I couldn’t of been in better caring hands that day.  Thank you for your wonderful care and dedication to your profession.
The experience has taught me a valuable lesson in being more understanding to our patients on what they may be feeling, and their anxieties on the unknown.  Being on the other side of the fence is not pleasant for anyone, but maybe I, as a health care provider can make a difference in their lives.

A BIG Thanks again,
A patient for a day

(September 08, 2016)

Cavelle Maynard

I am so pleased with the care my father, Vincent Maynard, His Surgeon, Dr. Odlum was very professional, kind, and caring.  He always kept our family in the loop at every stage of his surgery.  Even after the surgery he came up to his floor to check on him consistently and was very kind and patient towards us.  I originally wanted my father to have the procedure done in Atlanta, where I reside but he assured me that there are still good Dr's on the Island.

He also had a great Nurse named Ms. Hanley. She was so caring and thoughtful.  Her soothing tone of voice as it what did it for us.  She always took the time to address the family and was very friendly.  My father was so pleased with her that he asked that we have flowers delivered to her as a Thank You.

I am so proud so say that my Island can deliver professional care.

Kudos to Dr. Odlum, Nurse Hanley to the Professional staff at Roy L Schneider Hospital!!

(August 26, 2016)

Kevin McDonough, Florida

My name is Kevin McDonough and I have been married to my wife, Deborah, for almost 33 years. This letter is meant to thank all the wonderful people in St. Thomas who not only saved my wife’s life this week but also showed us random acts of great kindness too numerous to mention. Here is our story:

Celebrating both of our birthdays this week, my wife and I left Miami on July 9 on the Norwegian Cruise Line’s ship, Escape. Shortly after sailing, she developed incredible pain and was placed in the ship’s ICU/Medical Section. They were correct in their diagnosis, and on July 12, my wife was taken by ambulance to the hospital as soon as the ship reached our first port, which was St. Thomas.

We discovered she had a gangrenous gall bladder, she was admitted and it was successfully removed in emergency surgery on July 13. Her birthday was yesterday, and she is recuperating now (under my tender loving care) at the Green Iguana on St. Thomas.

We wish to personally thank the Escape ship’s medical staff, Schneider Regional Medical Center and the ER Nurses, Radiology Department, Surgery Department — especially gifted surgeon, Dr. Gilbert K. Comissiong, a native son of St. Thomas — the Medical/Surgical nurses and fourth floor staff and Jerrick Amaro, Norwegian Cruise Line’s ship agent on St. Thomas who has been so kind to my wife and me this week.

We also must thank John and Gwen Pittman of the Green Iguana Hotel who gave me peace, love and a place to lie down and later a quiet place for my wife to recuperate after the hospital discharged her. They will be our friends for the rest of our lives.

Please allow me to also thank the only person we knew here in St. Thomas — as he picked us up more 20 years ago in his “Golden Chariot”: Dennis “Goldie” Kuntz, whom everyone here seems to know and love. He visited us, took me to buy groceries and took us to church, Mt. Zion New Testament Church Of God, on Sunday to give thanks.

So many total strangers gave me rides to the hospital for free, free meals, hugs, directions and recommended people and places to help us in our times of great need. You will always be in our hearts. Thank you to you all.

St. Thomas is my wife’s favorite island. She likes it so much that she decided to give her gall bladder to St. Thomas. Now that’s love!

All is well and we will treasure our time here. We will be back. We are departing on the NCL Escape today, July 19, to complete our cruise and we thank their amazing crew as well.

(July 19, 2016)

Mrs. Carol Henneman

Mrs. Carol Henneman said that from entrance to exit, the staff is 1st class at CKCI. She wants to thank everyone at CKCI, her physician Dr. Buchan, RN Comissiong, Jennie and others who were all caring and encouraging to her while she got her treatment. She didn’t want to exclude RLS where she was also treated with great care, her physician Dr. Sidney Comissiong, is the best. Her classmate and very good friend is Dr. Thelma Watson and is not to be forgotten for all of her support. The VI have a great health care facility and offers many things that we don’t have to go to the United States for. She didn’t forget to mention that while having her treatment, she have the best view, looking at the harbor and the beautiful ships that are coming in.

Then we had Mr. Aubrey Nelthropp who also called to give his praise for the outstanding care that he too receive when he had to go to CKCI and also his care that he received from the ER and RLS staff. He also mention the superb job that Dr. Bernard Wheatley is doing.

Ms. Ruth E. Thomas called to give her praise for the hospital also, and everyone knows, when Ms. Ruth E. Thomas talks, everyone listens.

(April 13, 2016)

Margie and Raymond Stallings

I want to extend to you and your entire staff at SRMC a sincere THANK YOU for the outpouring of care, love and personal attention displayed and provided to my wife Margie and me during our recent personal emergency while on a Royal Princess cruise in early April. My wife experienced severe stomach pain on the ship which resulted in our debarkation from the ship and transport to your hospital in St. Thomas for emergency surgery.

From the moment of our arrival by ambulance to the Emergency Room, your staff provided timely and immediate actions and made preparations to properly determine and provide the necessary medical care to address her life-threatening situation. For their timely response and follow up care following the needed surgery, we are eternally grateful to your staff and the hospital they represent.

Although I would like to individually thank all who came to her aid, we do not know all of them by name, pbut I do know that their efforts were real and dedicated toward helping to ease her pain and suffering. If you can, please pass on to you staff our sincere and heart felt admiration for their efforts and dedication to her as their patient. It will be greatly appreciated.

I would like to mention several individuals in surgery operations, recovery and post surgery care who we feel went the extra mile and provided a level of care and concern that exceeded expectations. Their efforts helped to speed up her healing and restore her physically, mentally and spiritually. What a pleasure it was to be in contact with people who were willing to share their faith and love and clearly demonstrate their desire to serve others and provide professional medical care. Their caring attitude and training was on display during our entire stay at SRMC. You should be proud of your medical staff.

I will list a few of the nursing staff who cared for my wife and are worthy of our recognition. These individuals are Nurses' Victorine, Enrico, Joshua, Nurse, Phyllis, Donovan, Dominica, Celia, Hadley, Jeremiah. These nurses were always professional in their actions, but also displayed a caring and friendly attitude.

My wife and I have nothing but admiration and respect for the surgical, anesthesiology and radiology doctors who cared for her. We realize that Dr. Comissiong, using his surgical training and expertise, saved her life and properly handled a critical life-threatening situation. We will be forever thankful to him and will always remember the extra effort, time and genuine concern he displayed and gave to us. He is indeed a Special Person to us and is #1on our list.

Let me close with this. We believe that God put a lot of his Angels in our path in the last few weeks. It just so happens that we believe that these Angels work at SRMC and are willing to serve with all their capabilities those in need of medical help. We are proud of them and what they did for us and will consider them as our forever friends.

May God continue to Bless you and your great facility.

With sincere admiration and thanks,

(April 21, 2014)

Carol Lotz-Felix (St. Thomas)

I want to thank and highly commend MJ in Physiology for her wonderful care during my nuclear stress test (and her fantastic art museum AND Eileen in Radiology, for way above and beyond care and feeding during my Angioplasty procedure). They are incredible examples of the leaps and bounds of training and procedures that I have observed at RLSH over the past 17 years. Kudos also to the greeter in pre registration. I continue to sing praises to much often used local hospital. Thank You,
(April 16, 2014)

Honica Hodge

Dear Dr. Wheatley:

It has taken me a while to come to terms with my loss, but I would be remiss if I did not commend the Emergency room Staff, the great and wonderful Drs. Frank Odlum and Adam Flowers for their compassion and professionalism in explaining to my family and I that my son could not survive his injuries. I wish all St. Thomians would recognize that Schneider Hospital is a great hospital with some wonderful and compassionate physicians and make it their health facility of choice.

(March 29, 2014)

Linda Vessup

Dear Mrs. Moorehead

I am writing with great pleasure to express my sincere gratitude to Ms. Pauline Freeman for the assistance she offered both to my son and myself on Tuesday, March 3, 2014.

After arriving at the Roy Schneider Hospital to drop my son for his dialysis treatment, we were faced with another day of not being able to locate a wheelchair. As I was coming out of the door back to my car, I was approached by Ms. Freeman who asked me if I was looking for a wheelchair. I replied, “Yes”, she said wait a minute I will try to locate one for you. After locating a wheelchair, she brought it to me and she said let me assist you, I will take him to the floor.

I was overwhelmed by this act of kindness, which I spoke about to my friends that very same day. It's then that another lady told me that she had met my son on the beach outside trying to make it inside to get a wheelchair and the same Ms. Freeman is who brought him a chair, and another gentlemen visiting the hospital took him to his treatment.

I have worked for the Government of the Virgin Islands for thirty-five (35) years and have worked a second full time job in the hospitality area in the Private Sector for more than twenty-five (25) years. I have been awarded numerous times for Excellent Service as being named Employee of the Month and Employee of the Year. I pride myself with recognizing Excellent Service when it is given to me or someone else.

I was moved to write this letter recognizing Ms. Pauline Freeman for Excellent Service at the Front of the House (Schneider Regional Medical Center). My highest regards and compliments and gratitude goes out not only to Ms. Freeman, but to her supervisor, Ms. Cindy for having Ms. Freeman as part of her team.

We need more Pauline Freemans in our industries, next time it might be a visitor to our islands and this kind of representation will only help to elevate our hospital, other employees and our precious Virgin Islands.

Again, a great big Halo to Ms. Pauline Freeman, she was my angel that day.

Sincerely,

(March 27, 2014)

Sheena Conway

I was admitted to the Schneider Regional Medical Center to have a procedure done on February 12, 2014 with Dr. Jeff Guller and staff. Dr. Guller provided me with a comprehensive overview of all the pre-operative steps involved in the procedure I was going to have. The staff helped to make me feel relaxed and my procedure was quick and very successful. Based on my Schneider Regional Medical Center experience I would highly recommend this healthcare facility.
(March 17, 2014)

Kathleen Mitchell, RN (Disney Cruise Line)

Hello Dr Wheatley,

I want to thank you for taking the time to meet with me last week. My two days in St Thomas were very productive and extremely informative. I was happy to be able to meet with more than a dozen Health Care Providers to discuss the medical care for our Crew and Guests. Not only was I impressed with the credentials and backgrounds of these fine physicians; but more importantly, their expressed desire to give the best of care to our mutual patients.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is any way that I can assist in facilitating care for our valued Guests and Crew Members.

(March 14, 2014)

E. LaVerne Moorhead

This morning while doing rounds I met patient E10039956 and his wife. The patient was drawing when I entered the room and didn’t look up but his wife turned while I introduce myself to them both. Patient have a little difficulty hearing, I explained to them both why I was there and she told me that she have nothing but good things to say about our hospital and staff. She said that they came on island, went to their hotel, eat and by the time they got to their room he wasn’t feeling well. The hotel got the ambulance and he was brought into the ER. They both praise the ER staff (doctor, RNs & CNAs) regarding their professionalism and caring manner in which the patient was treated. He was then taken to the Medical Unit and again they say that the staff (doctor, RNs & CNAs) are great. The patient said that he have been in many hospital in the U. S. and they give poor care and service but he can’t say that about this hospital and the staff. Everyone is so kind to them since coming to the hospital.

Yesterday when I was doing my rounds, this patient was across the hall in another room, but he asked his physician if he could get a room with a view. The physician and staff found a room and they were able to move him into it and again the patient and his wife said that was very kind of them to do.

E. LaVerne Moorhead

(March 13, 2014)

Alexa Vidakovic Christopher Heina

Dear Ms Lewis,

Please allow me to express my thanks to your wonderful ER department and also the nurses and Doctors on the 4th floor. My husband was admitted from the ER to the 4th floor ward on Sunday January 5th 2014 for acute pancreatitis, which turned out to be severe. He was in a lot of pain and we were at the tail end of our trip coming in from the BVIs headed to Chicago via St Thomas. Our trip back home to Chicago was derailed by his illness.

Once he was admitted to the 4th floor on Monday January 6th, Dr Luis Amaro became his attending physician. I cannot compliment you enough on the care that my husband received from Dr. Amaro and the nurses on the 4th floor. Dr. Amaro was kind, articulate and straight forward about my husband's condition and the news wasn't particularly good. I was beyond impressed and so grateful that a small island hospital was able to take such good care of my husband. Dr Amaro and the Iranian gastroenterologist (female, can't recall her name) who spoke to me about his case were two individuals who made his care and stay at the hospital bearable as we had planned on being beach-side for 2 weeks, not bedside.

Dr Amaro strongly suggested and made possible the arrangements that my husband be air lifted back to the states to Chicago to Rush Medical Center ICU for evaluation and care while he was still in still stable condition. His team, along with a case worker, ensured that my husband was in good hands all the way through. We did in fact get to Chicago quickly and safely and Dr Amaro's suggestion was on point as my husband was in the hospital for another 5 days, but being close to home, our family and friends were nearby.

Might I add, that once we arrived to the ICU at Rush Medical Center on Thursday January 9th, several ICU doctors noted that his (transferred) case file was one of the best written up cases they had ever seen. On more than one occasion I was told that usually patients who transfer from other hospitals (especially small island ones) come in to the ICU with poor case notes and little patient information. Once again, I was convinced that my husband received the best possible care in St Thomas.

Thank you so much to Dr Amaro, the 4th floor staff nurses, the Iranian Gastroenterologist and to everyone else who make Schneider Regional Medical Center a great place for people who need care.

Alexa Vidakovic Christopher Heina (patient)

(March 13, 2014)

Margaret Bahen, O.T.

I write to thank you, your hospital and your doctors for the great care they all have given my husband when he has been with you. He was in the emergency for a day and a night to sort out a “maybe” problem. I am very impressed with your hospital and so happy that you continue to provide the best! Thank you all again (We are from Toronto area – Canada and here for many years in Yacht Haven Grande and all the Islands in the US & BVI’s).
(February 24, 2014)

Ellen Muss

I wanted to write a quick note to commend Sara the nurse who was on call Saturday night, January 18. I was staying with my family at the Westin and my daughter woke up around 1:30 am crying from pain in her lower right abdomen. I spoke with the Westin’s doctor on call who said I needed to speak to /go to the urgent care center to have her checked for appendicitis. Before heading over to the urgent care center I called to see what the procedure would be. Sara, very calmly, spoke to me about having her checked by the doctor there and then potentially having my daughter transferred to St. Thomas for a CAT scan. After reviewing her symptoms and other possible causes for the pain, we decided to give her some apple sauce and wait a ½ hour to see if she was still in terrible pain. Thankfully the pain lessened and my daughter fell asleep. We ended up not coming to the clinic and it seems the pain was probably constipation, but I want to thank Sara for the time she spent on the phone with me and for being such a calming presence. It is a comfort to know that there is a clinic with such caring staff on the island in case we should need it on our future travels. Thanks again.
(January 27, 2014)

Miles Stair

I wanted to send a thanks to Augustina, Dr. Clayton Wheatley and Louie for the quick and efficient help in the Emergency Room on Monday, 1/6/14. They were a very good team and just what I needed at the time.
(January 08, 2014)

Bradford J. Shingleton, M.D. (Boston)

Bernard A. Wheatley, DBA, FACHE
CEO, Roy Lester Schneider Regional Medical Center

Clayton Wheatley, M.D.
Medical Director of Emergency Services

Dear Sirs,

I want to take a moment to express my deep appreciation for the fine services I received at the emergency center of the Schneider Regional Medical Center on December 4, 2013.

I am a surgeon in Boston and I have a home on St. Thomas. I was unfortunate to get a bee sting and for the first time in my life, developed an acute allergic uriticarial reaction. This can be a serious issue so we went to the emergency room and I must commend the entire team that helped care for me. The concierge who met me at the desk directed me promptly to Allison, who was the triage nurse. She did a superb job with expediting my care and getting me into the facility for prompt treatment. Dr. Nanacy Sabat and Kendall, who was my nurse, attended to me promptly and gave me the appropriate treatment. Everything worked out extremely well in terms of my medical needs and I was very pleased with the service I received.

I hope you will extend my thanks to all who helped care for me and that you will commend them for their expert care and fine service.

Sincerely yours,

(December 17, 2013)

Greta Arceneaux (Las Vegas, Nevada)

I would like to commend your Hospital and Staff on the excellent service I received while on vacation in St. Thomas, USVI.

I was visiting on Virgin Gorda, BVI when I had an accident and severely broke my ankle. I was advised by my nephew, Dr, Byron Biscoe, to return to St. Thomas for treatment. Upon return, I was immediately examined by Dr. Brian Bacot who made arrangements for my surgery.

From the time I was seen at the hospital for pre-op registration and lab work, I was greeted with the utmost courtesy, efficiency and professionalism in every department. I did not experience any significant waiting time and was met with smiling faces and extremely patient hospital personnel.

Dr. Derek Jones, my anesthesiologist, explained his roll during my surgery and made me feel very calm and relaxed. Dr. Bacot and his surgical team did an excellent job repairing my ankle which included 10 screws and a plate. Their work was commended by my Orthopedic Surgeon when I returned home.

The follow-up from your hospital staff, including a phone call to my home weeks after the surgery and my whole experience at Schneider Medical Center is worthy of high praise.

Please extend my warmest appreciation and expression of gratitude to your staff at Schneider Medical Center.

(September 23, 2013)

Nicolas Overmeyer

Mr. Nicolas Overmeyer whose wife gave birth on the L&D unit in the past week (July 12, 2013) . He was very impressed with the care his wife received at RLS. “ In the almost 10 years on this island it is one of the most professional experiences I have had”. He gave his compliments to Nurses - Ms. Webster and Ms. Bennett.
(July 13, 2013)

Kate R.

On August 6th, 2012 I was admitted for a blood clot in my thigh. I have had no personal association with RLSH in years and was surprised and relieved at the professionalism, kindness and decorum of the present staff. Sheryl Holmberg greeted me in the ER and assisted me in taking off my Zora sandals when I sent in to get a sonogram. Later after I was put in my room, she found them on the desk in the ER, recognized them and personally returned them to me. Martin (I believe that was his name) who took the sonogram was incredibly kind. Deanna, the dietitian went out of her way to explain the importance of nutrition/diet to me in a way that I could understand it and put it to use in my life. Mrs. Peterson from Finance came up and spoke with me so I could make payment arrangements - I have no insurance and the stress of how I was going to pay for all this would have been overwhelming without her guidance. I just can't thank you all enough for your excellent care and for making a bad situation surmountable. Blessings!
(September 03, 2012)

Michael & Lorraine Szklarz (MA)

I am sure that you get letters of complaint, let me assure you that this is not one of them. My wife was a patient at your facility (July 19th to July 21st). She experienced cardiac problems requiring the insert of an external pacemaker and later needed to be medevaced to Florida.

I wish to comment and compliment the facility on the excellent care she received when at the hospital. In particular in the ICU: Ms. Nishel D. Lawrence, RN went above and beyond in her duties to make my wife and I as comfortable and updated of developments in a prompt, professional, and efficient manner. She is a consummate professional and credit to your facility.

We sincerely hope that in some way Ms. Lawrence is recognized for the exemplary care she provides to her patients. She is a credit to her profession.

(August 26, 2012)

Jonathan W.

Good Afternoon, We wanted to send a Thank You to the E.R. staff that attended to our son on 8/11/12. The P.A.Gary Smith, Augustina and nurses all went out of their way to care for Jonathan after having a seizure at the airport. The ambulance crew Alson and Louislyn were very calming to Jonathan. We truly appreciate the kindness you've shown towards our son. The general approach of the E.R. team was very professional and caring. Jonathan is Autistic, and your staff were extremely patient and kind to him. The experience was a positive one for Jonathan due to their professionalism. Sincerly, Jonathan W., Sr. and family
(August 13, 2012)
The ER staff and EMT's were extremely courteous and behaved in a very professional manner.
(August 31, 2011)

The experience was very good.  The doctor took his time and patient to explain the circumstances, and was very friendly.
(August 31, 2011)

We were very pleased with service given to us.
(August 31, 2011)

Service in the Emergency Room is very good & professional; a vast improvement from past years.
(August 31, 2011)

From ambulance to ER all staff were polite, attentive and knowledgeable.  I really appreciate their efforts!
(August 31, 2011)
The doctor was very professional and humane.  Even though the emergency room was busy, she took the time to explain things.
(August 31, 2011)

I was registered, initially evaluated by the triage nurse, and seen by the doctor within the first 30 minutes of my arrival.  This was very impressive and comforting.
(August 31, 2011)

Pleasantly surprised by experience - staff was courteous, prompt and well informed.
(August 31, 2011)

I was treated with care and, given all the advice I need.  We have a good hospital & staff.
(August 31, 2011)

The short time we were there everything was great.  We have wonderful people at our hospital.
(August 31, 2011)

Mrs. B

I received excellent treatment.  The staff was kind and warm.  I have no complaints about the wonderful care I received.
(August 30, 2011)